Board of Directors 2023-2024

Jukka Mönkkönen

(b. 1959) PhD (Pharmacy), CSC Board Member since 2019, Chair 2021-

Jukka Mönkkönen is Rector of the University of Eastern Finland. He previously served as Academic Rector, Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences and Professor of Biopharmacy at this University. He has also worked as a post-doc researcher at the University of Wisconsin (USA) and a visiting fellow at the University of Aberdeen (UK).

Key concurrent positions of trust: University Properties of Finland Ltd SYK chairman of the board; North Savo OP-bank, board of administration member.

Image of Riikka Autere

Riitta Autere

(b. 1969) MA, CSC Board Member 2021-

Riitta Autere is Ministerial Adviser at the Ministry of Finance Finland with responsibility areas of information policy, public sector information management steering operations, and open data issues. Previously she has been appointed as Senior Specialist at the Ministry of Environment with responsibilities in strategic steering of environmental information and knowledge management, as well as different tasks for information and knowledge management at the main governmental heritage agencies. Autere participates legislative drafting and transposition and implementation information management related EU Law.

Key concurrent positions of trust: a member of the secretariat of the Information Management Board of Finland in 2020.

Laura Eiro

(b. 1978), L.M., CSC Board Member 2022-

Laura Eiro is Director General of the Data Department at the Ministry of Transport and Communications. The Department is responsible for promoting the data economy and the availability of data, and for legislation and strategy work concerning information security in communications networks and services. It also has the task to promote the utilisation of automation and robotics in transport sector. Eiro serves as secretary general of the Ministerial Working Group on Developing the Digital Transformation, the Data Economy and Public Administration as well as one of the chairs of the interministerial Digital Office. She is a member of several other cooperation groups on digitalisation, the data economy and cyber security and is involved in a number of legislative and development projects in this field.

Previously Eiro has worked at the Ministry of Transport and Communications in expert and managerial positions. She has also worked at Finland’s Permanent Representation to the EU, at Intelligent Transportation Society of Finland and at the Ministry of Finance as secretary general of the Finnish Technology Advisory Board.

Tua Huomo

(b. 1969) PhD, MBA, CSC Board Member 2020-

Tua Huomo is Executive Vice President of VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland. She is leading sustainable products and materials business area, which is focusing on industrial biotechnology, food solutions, industrial chemistry, biomaterial processing, and products, knowledge-driven design, and industry digitalization. Huomo has previously worked at VTT in ICT and microelectronics sectors and software industry in different roles. She has also worked for several years at EIT Digital being responsible for European-level research and innovation activities for cloud and big data technologies and applications.

Key concurrent positions of trust: Board member of Academy of Finland and Association of Finnish Defence and Aerospace Industries.

Hannu Kemppainen

(b. 1964) Licentiate of Technology, CSC Board Member since 2021-

Hannu Kemppainen is Executive Director (Strategy) and Member of the Leadership Team for Business Finland. His main responsibilities include Business Finland’s strategy, foresight, business intelligence and impact evaluation functions and strategy-based management systems. Prior to his current role Kemppainen held several different leadership positions at Tekes – the Finnish Funding Agency for Technology and Innovation.
Hannu Kemppainen holds a Master of Science in Technology degree in Technical Physics and Licentiate in Technology degree in Electrical Engineering from Helsinki University of Technology.

Key concurrent positions of trust: Permanent Expert for the Business Finland Board of Directors; Member of the Economic Policy Committee of Service Sector Employers Palta.

Petri Myllymäki

(b. 1962) PhD, CSC Board Member 2021-

Petri Myllymäki is a professor of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning at the Department of Computer Science of University of Helsinki, Finland. He is currently the Director of the Helsinki Institute for Information Technology (HIIT), a joint research institute of University of Helsinki and Aalto University, and the vice-Director of the Finnish Center for Artificial Intelligence (FCAI). Prof. Myllymäki has over 30 years of experience in AI research, and he has held numerous positions of trust in research-related committees and organizations. He is a co-founder of several spin-off companies, and his applied research has lead to a number of fielded applications and patents. He is a member of Finnish Academy of Science and Letters and Finnish Academy of Technology.

Key concurrent positions of trust (a member of the following): Finnish Academy of Science and Letters, Finnish Academy of Technology, Finnish National Expert Group on Artificial Intelligence and Digitalisation, National Committee for Research Data Management, Board of the Nokia Foundation, Coordination Committee of the European Laboratory for Learning and Intelligent Systems (ELLIS).

Petri Raivo

(b. 1964) FT, member of the CSC Board in 2023-

Petri Raivo is the rector and CEO of Karelia University of Applied Sciences. Previously, he has worked as a lecturer and central director at North Karelia University of Applied Sciences, as well as the director of a tourism network university. In addition, he has worked at the University of Oulu and as a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Keele in the UK.

Key concurrent positions of trust: Vice Chairman of the Board of Education Employers, member of the Board of North Karelia Chamber of Commerce, member of the Board of Nordic International University (UZB).

CSC's Managing Director Kimmo Koski acts as the secretary of the board.

Hallituksen työjärjestys

Työjärjestys (PDF)